CROISSANTS

Happy Mothers’ Day to all the moms out there!!

FullSizeRender 25

This Mothers’ Day, I decided to bake croissants for my dear mommy who just flew back from the USA this morning! She’s always flying there for business trips, which kind of sucks because I miss her quite a bit when she’s gone, but I know that she does this so that she can provide for us. I’m just really thankful for her. I’m also very lucky in the sense that she’s always been very supportive of my sisters and I, and she trusts us a lot and gives us a lot of freedom. She lets us grow and learn from our own mistakes, but will step in when things get too much for us to handle. She can also tell when something’s wrong without us having to say anything, and she will always be there for us no matter how busy she is. Mother truly knows best; mother truly is the best. She also has this amazing habit of reading people and being able to tell the good eggs from the rotten ones. Which has led to her giving me tons of great (and 90% spot on) advice, about people and all the other little things in life. Ok I could go on and on about my mom but I’ll stop before this post gets insanely long.

Okay so, croissants.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Here as some lesser-known facts about croissant-making:

  1. You are going to use a hell lot of cling film.
  2. You will need to find something to do for four one-hour blocks, broken up by each turn of the dough.
  3.  One whole day spent on the dough itself, and another morning for the actual croissant-making. You will stop and reflect on what you are doing with your life and time.
  4. Exercise will take place in the form of constantly running to your fridge and back, and the constant dough-rolling.
  5. Flour and butter will go EVERYWHERE.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The recipe I used is from topwithcinnamon, which I used primarily because of her amazingly helpful gifs! Her gif-making skills are terrific, and they were a good guide as to what to do at each step. They really made this seemingly-impossible task a lot more doable. Instead of making chocolate croissants, I decided to make Nutella ones as my mom is a fan of the chocolate hazelnut spread. I also halved the total recipe as I was afraid that it might turn out badly, and I wasn’t very keen on wasting an entire bag of flour on a failed recipe.

BUT! In my application to Yale-NUS, I remember a question that went along the lines of “What would you do if you knew that you could not fail?”, and I wrote that I would make croissants, or something to that effect. Well, I finally did and I wouldn’t say that these are fantastic, but they are not a failure!

Bless. I’m definitely going to make these again, some time in the near future (before I start school!) and when I do I’ll probably make a huge batch of dough to freeze and use when the croissantspiration strikes! You see, they weren’t kidding when they said that croissants are a labour of love and in a few months, I’ll have the love but not much time to labour…

Processed with VSCOcam with 6 preset

basic croissants

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

nutella croissants

I’m not going to post the recipe here as I normally do due to the very minimal changes I made to it. In fact, the main difference between this and Izy’s croissants is that instead of the 1 tbsp of chocolate chips, I used 1 tsp of Nutella instead. Anyway, I’m sure the gifs accompanying the recipe will be a lot more comprehensive than anything I could write, so here’s the link to the recipe:

For the dough + basic croissants
For the chocolate croissants

Leave a Reply

