Artistry x SAM

What was meant to be a regular brunch turned into a rather artsy-fartsy day.

We met at Artistry, one of our favourite cafes where I waited for about half an hour for his arrival (but it’s ok because he brought a portable charger which had juice for me hehe). Had a niceย chat with Sue and Gerard while waiting, though! The Artistry staff are really lovely people, and this is just one of the many reasons why I love this cafe so much.

IMG_0362

They had only just started doing this piece of art the day before I came, but it looks great already – I can’t wait to see the finished product!

IMG_0347 IMG_0348 IMG_0352 IMG_0351

And of course, I had their Peanut Butter & Jelly french toast! I had been craving it for ages, and it was an amazing feeling to be able to satisfy my cravings! This is definitely one of the best french toasts in Singapore, no doubt about that. The layer of peanut butter and jelly in the middle is simply divine, yet the toast itself retains its moist, eggy texture. The berry compote is a great accompaniment, as is the vanilla ice cream and the speculoos crumble. I just wish that ice cream didn’t melt at such a rapid pace in our hot and humid country.

IMG_0353 IMG_0356

Darryl had the baked eggs which were oh-so-spicy but also oh-so-creamy-and-good. I should have let it cool a bit before taking a bite though, for I could practically feel smoke coming out of my mouth because it was so hot.

IMG_0354

IMG_0361

Raspberry-and-mint-infused water!!

Had a great chat over food and coffee, and we went to buy some dance stuff for Darryl before heading to the Singapore Art Museum (SAM)!

IMG_0370 IMG_0373 IMG_0375 IMG_0374 IMG_0376 IMG_0371

 

We also visited the new exhibition at the Queen’s Street branch of SAM, Imaginarium! It was mostly about children and their imagination, and it really made me miss my childhood quite a bit. Although I was never quite the imaginative kind, it was nice to look at these artworks and draw bits of inspiration from them.

IMG_0411 IMG_0414 IMG_0418 IMG_0420 IMG_0422 IMG_0427 IMG_0430 IMG_0445

One thing about my childhood though – I never did learn how to ride a bike properly. Like, the two-wheeled ones. Ooooooop. I do wish I didn’t have to rush off for an interview that day, but no matter! Darryl also told me about a few more art exhibitions around Singapore so I might take a day to go and visit all of them.

Soon, soon.

Leave a Reply

