Duck and Waffle {London}

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I am guilty of having moments when I let my mind wander, and I think about the things of the past… Things I was supposed to have let go of a long time ago, the things I did wrong, the things I did right. And then there are things like really good breakfasts.

Breakfasts that you just can’t seem to forget.

IMG_4771

Breakfasts that just leave you wanting more… Even when you are millions of kilometres away from that breakfast place.

The kind of breakfast you wake up at six in the morning on your last day of holiday for (and make the rest of your family wake up for too). The kind of breakfast that is worth it. This place is open 24/7, but it is so hard to get a reservation! At a “godly” hour, that is. We made a reservation the night before for 7:30 the next morning, driven primarily by my desperation to try the famous dish that the whole restaurant is named after – the Duck and Waffle!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

This was probably one of the best breakfasts that I had on the entire trip, if not the best. Let’s deconstruct it, shall we?

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

The egg, well… Eggs are perfection, and to me you can never go wrong with eggs. They go perfectly with anything and everything (my father would disagree though), and the fried duck egg is such a good touch.

The crisp skin of the duck was crunchy, salted goodness, and the meat of the duck retained its tenderness despite the skin being fried to perfection, for it wasn’t dry or tough. The maple syrup, when poured atop, added an excellent depth of flavour to the duck and it was truly looking at things in a new light – I would have never thought of eating duck with maple syrup before, but now I think it is a fantastic idea.

The waffle, perfect. Crisp and fluffy, just how I like it. When my sister first saw that these were Belgian waffles, her mind immediately turned to the Liege waffle, all-too-commonly known as a Belgian waffle. But those are merely a variation of the Belgian waffle – the real Belgian waffle, my friend, is actually rather similar to the American waffle. It simply has more air pockets, making it lighter and crisper. These were the perfect accompaniment to the duck, for the plain and simple waffle highlighted the contrast between the sweet and savoury. Cut a piece of duck, a square of waffle and a bit of the egg, dip it in some maple syrup (or drench the entire plate in maple syrup before hand) and pop the whole thing in your mouth.

Relish it, and appreciate the importance of each component. Look at the view, and start to see the world in a different light. Think about how ducks and waffles are such an odd combination but they go together better than peanut butter and jelly.

I’m starting to realise that waffles are so much more than a mere dessert dish. Waffles are incredibly versatile, and they could actually be variable substitutes for a number of things – rice, noodles, bread, and so on! Use them in a main course, instead – because you can! They do an amazing job in highlighting flavours and flavour combinations, yet are so underrated because of their stereotype. However, with places like Duck and Waffle and Revelry popping up, this stereotype may soon change!

As you may have noticed, this dish was so good that I didn’t even take any half-eaten shots of my food, for I was too busy enjoying it. Coupled with the rising sun, watching the city wake up, it was really the best way to end my trip, and the best breakfast to end with, with the best company. The view is quite amazing, and the atmosphere is perfect. I also had the loveliest French waiter – it was really a pleasure to have been served by him.

IMG_4772

Do head to this place if you have the chance to – I have heard varying reviews on it, ranging from fabulous to overrated, but the best way to find out is to really try it for yourself. I did, and it was fantastic. I do hope you think so too.

Duck and Waffle
Heron Tower, 110 Bishopsgate, London EC2N 4AY
Open 24 hours

Leave a Reply

