Oxford (2014)

This little city will always hold a special place in my heart.

In the short month I stayed there, I came to love the place, its nooks and crannies, cobblestone pathways and Pembroke College, my home for the month. And of course, the many people I met, friends I made, and food I ate.

When we made a trip back to the UK this December, I really wanted, needed, to visit Oxford; and relive all the memories once again. So we did.

We stayed in the Burlington House, a five-star bed & breakfast in which we stayed on our previous family vacation in 2012. Funnily enough, we were allocated the same rooms as the last time, too! Although this house isn’t located in the city itself, it is rather convenient as it is a short 15-minute bus ride (or so) down to the city.

We were greeted by packets of tea and oat cookies, bringing back memories from our previous trip.

IMG_3101

The Burlington truly lives up to the second half of its recognition as a bed and breakfast, for the breakfast spread in the morning is truly amazing. The menu includes homemade yogurt and granola, poached eggs on toast, gruyere omelettes among others.

(Not to mention the freshly squeezed orange juice)

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

We only had one full day in Oxford, and a full day in the UK winter means sunlight from only about 8-4 or so, thus we truly had to capitalise on all the time we had to walk about and enjoy the city before it turned cold and dark!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

a walk down the High street

IMG_3146

We were incredibly blessed to see blue skies that day, and it instantly took me back to the warm summer days during which I wandered around in shorts and the same pair of black converse (which are now broken and about to fall apart).

Of course, a trip down memory lane would be painfully incomplete without food. I brought my family to Byron’s, a burger place where lunches would be spent, and into the Covered Market where Ben’s Cookies was! I was so thrilled when I found out that Ben’s Cookies came to Singapore – I remember nibbling on them during class and in my room, and I couldn’t wait to see if they were as good as I remembered them to be. (They weren’t quite the same).

And G&D’s! Also known as Oxford’s best – featuring my favourite daim bar ice cream.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

 

I actually wanted to visit Pembroke college and even tried to sneak in but sadly, luck wasn’t on my side that day.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

The G&D’s right outside my college! Well, almost.

But, no trip to Oxford is complete without a trip to Blackwell’s! I daresay it is the best, or one of the best bookstores I have ever visited. The catalogue of books is extensive, it’s like a maze down there – a maze I wouldn’t mind getting lost in.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

More shots of this lovely city.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

We came and left too soon, but I’ll be back again one day. I promise.

Leave a Reply

